Hermann Broch

The Sleepwalkers - A Trilogy

Hermann Broch

Hermann Broch

»[T]he greatest novelist European literature has produced since Joyce.« George Steiner

»Hermann Broch belongs in that tradition of great twentieth-century novelists who have transformed, almost beyond recognition, one of the classic art forms of the nineteenth century.« Hannah Arendt

Hermann Broch, born 1886 in Vienna, Austria, died in 1951 in New Haven, Connecticut, U.S.A.

Sold to

English world rights (Pantheon Books), Spanish world rights (Random House Mondadori / Lumen / Debolsillo), Brazilian Portuguese rights (Saraiva), Portuguese rights (Relógio D’Água), France (Gallimard), Italy (Mimesis), Netherlands (Ambo/Anthos – published, rights reverted), Denmark (Gyldendal – published, rights reverted), Sweden (Alba – published, rights reverted), Norway (Gyldendal Norsk – published, rights reverted), Finnland (Tammi – published, rights reverted), Japan (Chyuo-Koron-Sha – in public domain), Poland (Dolnoslaskie – published, rights reverted), Czech Republic (Academia), Hungary (Jelenkor – published, rights reverted), Bulgaria (Delta Altera), Romania (Univers – published, rights reverted), Serbia (Nolit – published, rights reverted), Slovenia (Cankarjeva Zalozba – published, rights reverted), Turkey (Ithaki), Georgia (Diogene), Israel (Keter – published, rights reverted)

»One of the greatest European novels.« Milan Kundera


With his epic trilogy, The Sleepwalkers, Hermann Broch established himself as one of the great innovators of modern literature, a visionary writer-philosopher the equal of James Joyce, Thomas Mann, or Robert Musil. Even as he grounded his narratives in the intimate daily life of Germany, Broch was identifying the oceanic changes that would shortly sweep that life into the abyss.

Whether he is writing about a neurotic army officer (The Romantic), a disgruntled bookkeeper and would-be assassin (The Anarchist), or an opportunistic war-deserter (The Realist), Broch immerses himself in the twists of his characters' psyches, and at the same time soars above them, to produce a prophetic portrait of a world tormented by its loss of faith, morals, and reason. (book description from the English edition by Vintage)

Part 1: Pasenow oder Die Romantik 1888 (The romantic) - first published 1931
Part 2: Esch oder Die Anarchie 1903 (The anarchist) - first published 1931
Part 3: Huguenau oder Die Sachlichkeit 1918 (The realist) - first published 1932