Four Suhrkamp authors on the 2021 International Booker Prize Longlist


We are excited and honoured to announce that four out of the 13 titles longlisted for the 2021 International Booker Prize are both published and represented by Suhrkamp internationally with world-rights:

Nana Ekvtimishvili with მსხლების მინდორი (The Pear Field / Das Birnenfeld, published in the UK by Peirene Press, translated from Georgian by Elizabeth Heighway)

Benjamín Labatut with Un verdor terrible (When We Cease to Understand the World / Das blinde Licht, published in the UK by Pushkin Press, translated from Spanish by Adrian Nathan West)

Judith Schalansky with Verzeichnis einiger Verluste (An Inventory of Certain Losses / Verzeichnis einiger Verluste, published in the UK by MacLehose Press, translated from German by Jackie Smith)

Maria Stepanova with Памяти памяти (In Memory of Memory / Nach dem Gedächtnis, published in the UK by Fitzcarraldo Editions, translated from Russian by Sasha Dugdale).

Jonathan Landgrebe, publisher and CEO of Suhrkamp Verlag:
»Discovering authors for us is also about choosing to represent their books worldwide, even if the original language is not German. Especially in the case of authors who have, so far, not been translated widely we often can make a difference in promoting their success not only in Germany, but internationally. That is why we are particularly pleased that four authors of the publishing house, writing in four different languages, have now been nominated for the International Booker Prize.«

Nora Mercurio, Rights Director of Suhrkamp Verlag:
»I am immensely happy for our four longlisted authors about this wonderful recognition! Suhrkamp is a European leader in making books travel which are written in non-English languages with over 400 translation deals each year. But having four books out of 13 on the list, all published in the UK by great and trusted publishers and translated so masterfully, is very special even for us. The list shows the variety of the authors we represent and it’s one of our strengths for more than 20 years to foster international talents alongside our German language authors.«

The International Booker Prize is awarded annually for a single work of fiction, translated into English and published in the UK. The prize money of £50,000 is split equally between the author and the translator. The shortlist of six books will be announced on 22 April and the winner on 02 June 2021.

For more information please contact the respective Rights Manager.

The Pear Field
Nana Ekvtimishvili
The Pear Field
In Memory of Memory
Maria Stepanova
In Memory of Memory
An Inventory of Losses
Judith Schalansky
An Inventory of Losses